The Foundation's People

Founder & Chairman: Denis Marshall

Denis-marshallHon Denis Marshall QSO, was founding Chairman of New Zealand National Parks & Conservation Foundation in 2001. He is a Nuffield Farming Scholar and a former Government Minister, with portfolios including Conservation and, Lands.

Denis was Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association based in London and has consulted on democracy programmes with the United Nations Development Programme and the World Bank Institute.

He lives near Queenstown where he is proprietor of Hawkshead Wines.

Phone: 021 541 467

Trustee: Murray McKee

Murray-mckeeMurray McKee practices as a public policy and risk management adviser in Wellington, and has served on the New Zealand Conservation Authority (a Ministerial advisory body), and two regional Conservation Boards.

Phone: 027 453 0094

Trustee: Lady Wallis

Prue, Lady Wallis, together with her husband Sir Tim Wallis and her entrepreneurial family, have a long and productive involvement in farming, aviation and high-end tourism.

Prue is an active supporter of trusts and charities for the environment, the arts, medical research and local groups.

Phone: 021 443 795

Trustee: Andy Archer

Andy ArcherAndy Archer was a senior Partner at Ernst & Young until 2017. He is currently a Director and Partner at VCFO Group Ltd specialising in business governance and improvement, taxation, and re-organisations.

Andy works across the not-for-profit sector generally, and holds several governance positions helping Diabetes New Zealand Inc.

He is a member of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, Impact Investing, International Fiscal Association.

Phone: 0274 899 052

Trustee: Evan Blackman

Evan BlackmanEvan brings significant skills in strategic thinking, business development, building partnerships, and programme leadership, gained through experience across start-ups, corporate and multi-national organisations.  Evan's areas of interest include conservation, healthcare and education with a focus on digital transformation in these areas.

Ph 027 240 3587

Trustee:  Kate Smith

Kate SmithKate has had a thirty year career in brand strategy, marketing and communications, originally in London and for the past 25 years in NZ.

She was Strategic Planning Director for Saatchi & Saatchi NZ for 10 years, and in the past 16 years has run her own consultancy.

Kate is based in Queenstown where she loves to get out into the mountains to ski, tramp and enjoy NZ’s incredible outdoor spaces.

Phone: +64 21 338 680

Trustee:  Jules Fulton

Jules-FultonJules is a professional civil engineer who studied at University of Canterbury and then worked as a consultant in New Zealand and UK before joining Fulton Hogan in 1993.

Jules has been immersed in Fulton Hogan ever since, from project management to regional and general management and for the last 9 years in executive leadership. Jules is now the Group Executive for Culture with responsibility for the leading the culture programmes and being the cultural champion for the company. Jules has been an integral part of impactful partnership between Fulton Hogan, NZNPCF and DOC to save the Takahē. This programme continues to grow and gain traction across multiple regions in New Zealand. A highlight has been the release of 30 Takahe in to the Kahurangi National Park in 2018, the first time in over a century since the Takahe have lived in this area. Jules joined the NZNPCF in December 2019.

Phone: 0274 656 289

Executive Officer:  Rose Challies

Rose-ChalliesRose has spent the last 20 years in Europe working with governments, independent funders, philanthropists, companies and a range of not for profit organisations within the UK, Europe and internationally.  She has led national initiatives and philanthropic approaches to maximize resources and enable strong social and environmental change.  Rose has also advised on and supported leaders worldwide on how to bring about and measure impact effectively.

She is passionate about the role of conservation as a critical tool for effective environmental impact and as an essential part of giving and investment; key to New Zealand’s future prosperity.  Rose believes conservation is at the heart of all of us and she is personally happiest spending time amongst the mountains and forests of the Southern Alps.      


Phone: 0225919213

Ambassador: Richard Riddell

Richard-riddellRichard Riddell is an Executive Director and Principal of NZAM (New Zealand Assets Management) and has more than 30 years experience in the banking and investment management industries.

Richard hails from a farming family. He is a director of a number of private companies and trustee of family and charitable trusts.

Phone: 021 379 006

Ambassador: Mark Christensen

Mark-christensenMark Christensen is an expert in resource management and biodiversity law. Mark is a recent member of the New Zealand Conservation Authority and Chair of the Banks Peninsula Conservation Trust.

He is actively involved in the International Union for the Conservation of Nature, and the New Zealand Sustainable Business Council.

Phone: 027 487 8611

Ambassador: John Ombler

John Ombler

John Ombler, QSO, has extensive experience in public sector management.

He has more than 30 years experience in conservation management in New Zealand, in operational, policy, and research and development roles.

He is currently involved in a variety of governance, contract and voluntary work.

Greg-LindAmbassador and Conservation Advisor: Greg Lind

Greg was a foundation staff member when the Department of Conservation was formed in 1987. Previously he served with the NZ Forest Service and National Parks & Reserves in the Department of Lands and Survey.

During 32 years with DOC Greg was based in various field locations from the Catlins, Rakiura/Stewart Island, Southland including managing the NZ Sub-Antarctic Islands, Queenstown and Te Anau/Fiordland National Park.

He brings a lifetime of knowledge and achievements in conservation, including the creation of National Parks, Marine Reserves, major pest eradication projects, and visitor management, to our team.

Ambassador: Sam Neill, DCNZM, OBE

Sam Neill is an actor with many leading roles in film and television in New Zealand and overseas. Environmentalist. Proprietor of Two Paddocks winery in Central Otago.

Ambassador: Sir Tumu Te Heu Heu Tukino VIII, KNZM

Sir Tumu Te Heu Heu Tukino VIII, Paramount Chief of Ngati Tuwharetoa. Chair NZ Historic Places Ma-ori Heritage Council. Former Chair UNESCO World Heritage Committee. In 1887, his family gifted the land we now know as Tongariro National Park.

Trustees of the New Zealand National Parks and Conservation Foundation have a wealth of public and private sector experience and expertise covering conservation and environmental management, business practice, fund management and governance.

The Foundation would not exist without the generosity of a few individuals who, in its earliest days, trusted in the Trust:

  • Sir Leslie and Olive, Lady Hutchins, Real Journeys.

  • Sir John Davies and Trish, Lady Davies, Tourism Milford.

  • Henry van Asch, AJ Hackett Bungy New Zealand.

Their donations, with no strings attached, helped the Foundation become established.

The Department of Conservation’s support at this time is also gratefully acknowledged.